Regulatory policy

Bureau members of the Network of Economic Regulators


A number of NER delegates are designated to serve on the “NER Bureau” that provides more detailed direction to the OECD Secretariat on issues of management and the planning of the Programme of Work of the Network. Bureau members contribute to the planning of each NER meeting by the Secretariat and take part in consultations on on-going work.

The members of the Network of Economic Regulators Bureau for 2021 are:


Anne Yvrande-Billon

Anne Yvrande-Billon


Anne Yvrande-Billon was appointed Director, Economics, Markets and Digital at the French e-communications regulator (Electronic Communications, Postal and Print media distribution Regulatory Authority - L’Autorité de régulation des communications électroniques, des postes et de la distribution de la presse, ARCEP) in September 2020. Previously, since November 2015, she was Vice President of the Transport Regulatory Authority and sat on the French Ethics Commission for railways. She is the President of the “Club des Régulateurs” (Paris-Dauphine Foundation) since July 2017. She worked formerly at the French Competition Authority (2011-2014), first as a senior economist, and then as the deputy chair of the Mergers Unit. Prior to joining the French Competition Authority, she worked at the French Council of Economic Analysis, an independent advisory body reporting to the Prime minister. She holds a PhD in economics from the University of Paris Sorbonne where she is Associate Professor in Economics since 2003. Her research and publications are mostly in the fields of economics of contracts and regulation of utilities, with a particular interest in the public transport sector. Anne Yvrande-Billon was awarded the rank of Knight in the National Order of Merit in May 2016.

Scott Streiner (Canada)

Scott Streiner


Scott Streiner became Chair and CEO of the Canadian Transportation Agency (CTA) on July 20, 2015. During his term, he has taken a series of steps to enhance the CTA's ability to respond to the needs of a rapidly evolving transportation system, its users, and the communities in which it operates – including streamlining the CTA's internal structure and processes, reviewing and modernizing all the regulations made and administered by the CTA, and raising public awareness of the CTA's roles and services. Prior to joining the CTA, Scott had a 25-year public service career in seven different federal departments and agencies. His roles included Secretary to the Cabinet Committee on Economic Prosperity; Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy with Transport Canada and with the Labour Program; and Vice President, Program Delivery with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency. Scott has a BA in East Asian Studies from the Hebrew University, an MA in International Relations from the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, and a PhD in Political Science from Carleton University.

Susanna Metsälampi (Finland)

Susanna Metsälampi


Ms. Susanna Metsälampi, LLM, Head of Department, Legal Affairs, Finnish Transport and Communications Agency. Ms. Metsalampi, LLM from Helsinki University, has been working in the Finnish transport administration since 1992 in various positions, through several organizational changes in the administration. Since 2012, she has been heading the department responsible for rulemaking issues in the transport sector. During her career she has worked with legislative work both at national and European level, with international co-operation particularly in aviation, at European (the European Union and the European Aviation Safety Agency, EASA) and global level (International Civil Aviation Organization). She has been representing Finland at EASA as member of the Member State Advisory Body and the body’s predecessors (Rulemaking Advisory Group and Advisory Group of National Authorities) since 2011. She was nominated representative of Finland in the Legal Task Force of the European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC) when the Task Force was established in 1996. Since 2015, she has been the Chair of the ECAC Legal Task Force. She is second vice chair of the ICAO Legal Committee, and chair of ICAO’s Article 21 Task Force. Her national regulatory activities have covered also the maritime, rail and road sectors.

Dr. Annegret Groebel (Germany)


Dr. Annegret Groebel has held the post of Head of Section "International Co-ordination", in the German Regulatory Authority for Telecommunications and Post since 2001 and was promoted Head of Department International Relations/Postal Regulation in 2009. She also holds key positions at the Independent Regulators Group (IRG). She is actively involved in the work of the European Regulators Group (ERG) and of the newly created Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC). She is responsible for all contacts to other European and non-European regulatory bodies as well as for the contacts with the European Commission, including CEER, ACER in the energy field, ERG-Post and IRG Railways. In March 2012, she was appointed Vice-President of the Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER). and became the alternate member of the ACER Board of Regulators representing BNetzA at the BoR Plenary meetings. Since August 2013 she is co-chairing the Market Integrity and Transparency Working Groups of ACER and CEER. In November 2013 she was appointed to be a member of the NER Bureau supporting the NER Chair Luigi Carbone (AEEG). Dr. Groebel has worked for the German Regulatory Authority for Telecommunications and Post since 1997 (renamed in 2005 to Federal Network Agency for Electricity, Gas, Telecommunications, Post and Railway). She has expertise in the European regulatory framework for electronic communications and implementation, as well as the regulatory framework for the internal energy market and is lecturing at universities in Germany, the FSR in Italy, and Switzerland. She has advised public authorities on regulatory reform and sector specific regulation. She is an economist by training.

Cristina Portugal 

Cristina Portugal


Cristina Portugal was appointed Chair of the Portuguese Energy Regulatory Authority (ERSE) in May 2017, following her initial appointment to ERSE’s Executive Board in June 2016. Prior to joining ERSE’s Board, she served as President of ERSE’s Tariff Council (2011/2016), as Member and, from 2015, President, of the Civil Institute of Advertising and Commercial Communications’ Ethics Jury (2003/2016), as Vice President of the Consumer Institute (2000/2003) and as Lawyer (till 2016). She holds a degree in Law (University of Lisbon, Law School, 1988) and a Post Graduate Degree in EU Community Law (Lisbon Catholic University, Law School, 1990).

Alan Sutherland 
(United Kingdom)

Alan Sutherland


Alan has been Chief Executive of the Water Industry Commission for Scotland since its establishment in 2005. Before then he was the Water Industry Commissioner, a role he took up in 1999. Over the past decade the water industry in Scotland has become much more efficient and performance standards have improved markedly. Retail competition was introduced in 2008, and this is now delivering substantial benefits for customers and the environment. Alan has extensive experience in management consultancy and in the investment banking industry. He was formerly a management consultant with Bain and Company and before that a Manager with Robert Fleming and Co. More recently he was Managing Director of Wolverine CIS Ltd. Alan has an MBA and MA from Pennsylvania University and an MA (Hons) from St Andrews University.


Read more about

» Regulatory policy and governance

» The OECD Network of Economic Regulators


Related Documents


Also AvailableEgalement disponible(s)