Office of the Secretary General

The Office of the Secretary-General provides support to the Secretary-General in the exercise of his functions and the fulfillment of his mandate, including the preparation of his daily activities, missions abroad and overall coordination of the work of the OECD Secretariat.  The Office is lead by the Chief of Staff and OECD Sherpa.  The Secretary-General is assisted in his function by OECD Deputy Secretaries-General.
» Read about his objectives

Chief of Staff: Ms. Gabriela Ramos
Deputy Chief of Staff: Mr. Juan Yermo

Responsibilities of the Secretary-General and Senior Management


Angel Gurría, Secretary-General of the OECD

Secretary-General Angel Gurría

Areas of responsibilities

  • General Secretariat
    • Council Secretariat (CES)
    • Legal Directorate (LEG)
    • Internal Audit (IA)
  • Executive Directorate (EXD)
  • Public Affairs & Comm (PAC)
  • International Energy Agency (IEA)
  • OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)
  • International Transport Forum (ITF)
  • Accession


Highlights of activities of the Office of the Secretary-General

Better Policies Series

Policy oriented and specific recommendations and timely advice on key issues at the centre of national debate.

» More

Coffees with the SG

An initiative to connect the Secretary-General, OECD Staff and Delegations to latest, cutting edge thinking. 

» More

Sherpa Unit

Coordinates OECD contribution in global fora, maximising the leverage of its work, standards and policy recommendations. 

 » More


Deepens OECD's understading of the complexity of policy challenges.

»  More

Inclusive Growth

Increased awareness of the importance of inclusiveness for sustainable long term growth

» More

Strategic Foresight

Strengthens OECD's analysis by including anticipatory knowledge

» More

Sustainable Development

Enables key players to conduct discussion at a high and horizontal level

» More

OSG team

Gabriela Ramos
Chief of Staff and Sherpa



Juan Yermo
Deputy Chief of Staff 



Angel Alonso Arroba
Head of Management and Communications


Romina Boarini
Senior Advisor & Coordinator of the Inclusive Growth Initiative

Duncan Cass-Beggs
Head of Strategic Foresight Unit 

Amanda Gautherin
Head of Protocol and Resource Management

William Hynes
Acting Head, NAEC 


Rafal Kierzenkowski
Senior Advisor 


Mario Lopez-Roldan
Head of Speech Writing & Intelligence Unit

Colette Morris


Elsa Pilichowski



Nicolas Pinaud
Head of the Sherpa Office

Nejla Saula
Deputy Head of the Sherpa Office


Litsa Vavakis