Inclusive societies and development

Youth Inclusion Project - Piter Vega


“The first person I would go to in case of problems would be my mother. I have every confidence in her, she has always supported me”


Piter Vega, Lima, Peru


My name is Piter Vega and I am 22 years old. I was born in Abancay, in southern Peru, and I lived there until I finished high school. My mom was a housewife and my dad was a farmer. Now I live in Lima, the capital. I am currently in my last year of political science. I have started my pre-professional internship as it is compulsory to validate my career and get my diploma. It took me a month to find this internship. I work in a municipality, in the area of ​​economic development management. They pay me the minimum wage. My friends from school also do internships and /or work and earn the same as me or they work ad honorem.

I'm happy with the work I do. I like it because I have the opportunity to design and monitor programmes or projects and it is also in line with career. I would like to save some money to enrol in a specialization course, for instance a course on Local Governance, and buy myself a laptop.

My current work is the first stable professional experience (six months). Before I worked for a month at the ONPE (National Office of Electoral Processes in Peru) and for three months as a public speaking professor at the University of San Marcos and in the district of San Juan de Lurigancho. Sometimes, I realize that what I have learned in college is not enough for my job. There have been times when I have had to investigate certain things on my own because I have not learned them at school.

Things are not always easy. For example to get a job or a scholarship is very important to have contacts. Favouritism and intermediation is the norm everywhere. But I'm not discouraged. I know that I have the support of my family, and that my mother will always be there for me. She has always supported me, even financially.

I am very optimistic about my future. I see great progress in my life. I am motivated by the effort my mother made for me. And I am also willing to give my best. For example, I already made many sacrifices by coming to Lima, entering into college and finding my current job.


Learn more about the work of the Youth Inclusion Project in Peru

Back to Homepage - Youth Inclusion Project 


Related Documents


Also AvailableEgalement disponible(s)