Who's Who: Final Plenary Session


Final Plenary Session

Regulation: The Challenge to Govern Better Learning from Failures to Prepare for the Future







- Rolf Alter, Director, Public Governance and Territorial Development, OECD

Mr. Rolf Alter has been appointed the Director for Public Governance and Territorial Development of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in Paris on 1 July 2009. Mr. Alter, a German national, joined the OECD in 1991, serving since 2006 as Chief of Staff of Secretary-General Angel Gurría. Prior to that, he was Deputy Director for Public Governance and Territorial Development and had worked in various other policy areas of the OECD. Prior to joining the OECD, Mr. Alter was an economist in the Research Department of the International Monetary Fund, in Washington D.C., and later moved to the IMF’s African Department. He started his professional career in the German Ministry of Economy. Mr. Alter holds a doctorate degree from the University of Goettingen, Germany, following post graduate work in Germany and the United States.











- Gary Banks

Chairman, Productivity Commission, Australia

Gary Banks has been Chairman of Australia’s Productivity Commission since its inception in 1998.  The Productivity Commission is the Australian Government’s independent research and advisory body on major economic, social and environmental issues affecting the wellbeing of the community. In addition to overseeing the Commission’s activities, Gary has personally headed national inquiries on such topics as National Competition Policy, the National Reform Agenda and the Economic Implications of an Ageing Australia.  He also chaired the Prime Minister’s Regulation Taskforce, which issued its influential report ‘Rethinking Regulation’ in 2006.  For many years Gary Banks was responsible for the Office of Regulation Review, a gate keeper for good regulatory practice, and he established its successor body, the Office of Best Practice Regulation. In 2007 he was made an officer of the Order of Australia for services to the development of public policy in microeconomic reform and regulation.











- Luigi Carbone

Deputy General-Secretary of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers, Executive Chair of the Better Regulation Unit, and Counsellor of State, Italy

Luigi Carbone is a member of the Council of State of Italy. For many years, he has followed the development of regulatory and administrative simplification policies both at national and international levels. He is Deputy General Secretary of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers. He also serves as Executive Chair of the Better Regulation Unit, founded in 2006. The BRU has eliminated 375.000 regulatory acts, and created an online database of all legislation in force, along with the one-stop shop for enterprises. Luigi Carbone is a member of the OECD Regulatory Policy Committee Bureau, co-chair of the OECD-MENA Group on Regulatory Reform, and member of the European Commission High Level Group on Better Regulation. He took part in various OECD peer reviews and World Bank co-operation initiatives. In 2000-01, he represented Italy in the “Mandelkern Group” on better regulation at the European level. Since 2003, he has been Professor of “Administrative and Regulatory Science” at LUMSA University of Rome.










- Luiz Alberto dos Santos

Deputy Minister for Analysis and Follow-Up of Governmental Policies, Presidency of Republic - Civil House, Brazil

Mr. Luiz Alberto dos Santos holds a BA in Law and a BA in Social Communication, a Masters’ degree in Administration and a Ph.D in Comparative Studies/Social Sciences  (UnB). He is author of the books “Administrative Reform in the context of Democracy” (1997) and “Agencification, Publicization, Contractualization and Social Accountability – possibilities for the State Reform” (2000). Since 1990, Mr. Santos is a career Civil Servant of the Brazilian Federal Government. From 1992 to 2002, Mr. Santos advised the Workers’ Party in the National Congress. In 2002, he became a Legislative Consultant of the Federal Senate. Since 2003, is the Head of the Office for Following Up and Analysis of Government Policies of the Civil House of the Presidency of Republic. Mr. Santos was born in 1961. He is married and have one son and one daughter. His hobbies are readings, travels and movies. He has also an undergraduate degree in Cinema (Unb, 2006).








- Marianne Klingbeil

Director for Better Regulation; Acting Chair of the Impact Assessment Board, Secretariat-General of the European Commission

Marianne Klingbeil joined the European Commission in 1985, holding successive posts in the Directorates-General for Economics and Financial Affairs, for Industry and for Environment. Her last posts before joining the Secretariat-General in 2007 were Head of Unit for Production, Consumption and Waste and Head of Unit for Clean Air and Transport at the Directorate-General for Environment. In her current post, she is responsible for overseeing the Commission’s Better Regulation agenda, coordinating the Commission's evaluation activities, ensuring the follow-up and currently chairing the Impact Assessment Board, a quality assessment body for impact assessments accompanying legislative proposals. Marianne Klingbeil studied economics and holds a PhD from the University of Hannover.












- Jeroen Nijland

Director, Regulatory Reform Group, Ministry of Finance/Economic Affairs, the Netherlands

Jeroen Nijland is currently Director of the Regulatory Reform Group. The Regulatory Reform Group was founded in October 2007 and it is responsible for the formulation and implementation of the Dutch policy dealing with regulatory burdens for business. The organisation is a merger of the former Interministerial Project directorate on Administrative Burdens (IPAL), which was a part of the Ministry of Finance, and three different project groups dealing with regulatory affairs at the Ministry of Economic Affairs. He represents the Netherlands in the EU’s High Level Expert Group for Better Regulation. He is Chair of the OECD’s Regulatory Policy Committee, and co-chair of the Program for co-operation between OECD and Middle East and North African countries. From 1990 until 2000 he worked for the Ministry of Economic Affairs, focusing amongst others on SME, technology, innovation and ICT policies. From 2000 until 2003 he was employed at a policy research and consultancy company. In the first half of 2003 he returned to the Ministry of Finance to set up IPAL.





Related Documents